What Animal Would You Pick If You Could Become One?

In 6th grade when we had to introduce ourselves including our favorite color, number, and animal, we would have to explain the animal we would transform into if we could.  I always picked dog or butterfly or eagle… the one I picked the most was the dog because well, a dog is always loved by everyone, and you don’t have to do much except be fed and cuddle right?

As I’m older though, I think it’s a horrible idea.  First of all, it really depends on what country you’re born in.. if you’re born in a country where they still consume dogs, then you’re pretty much fucked.  Second of all, once in awhile I would picture what it’s like to have a bunch of wide-eyed excited giggling humans touching me without my permission, and forcing me to roll over and do stupid shit like that.  I would be bewildered first of all because of my social anxiety, and then I couldn’t even bark or bite them or I would be deemed “unfriendly”, a nature that is contradictory and unloving to what dogs are supposed to be to humans.  But humans suck and in some ways, they are really condescending sometimes!  I truly believe dogs are angels sent from above, we don’t deserve them :/

It’s kind of like stereotyping dogs and women and third world countries, where you help them out, but they were always remain second to you as a “pet” and you as the “owner.”  So even if you didn’t physically abuse your pet, probably one of the perks is having that power to control this cute and vulnerable being.  Not to mention if they dared cause any sort of injury to a human, they would probably be put down :/  Even though humans exercise the right to harm animals, even if institutionally in farms or wherever most of the time.  Can you imagine how much life would suck for humans if another species more clever than us dominated the planet and they were as crappy as humans?  I wonder how many mean psychos and compassionate people exist in this world, and whether they equal each other out.  You always see it in politics.  In most of the minds of people though, they always right and the good guy.  The people who can’t accept same-sex marriage because they are stubbornly fighting for a tradition that is the correct way to live, so depending on where you stand, you are either a jerk or an altruistic individual.

Anddd this is why they ask a child at age 12 this kind of question, because as an adult you way overanalyze and overthink your answer to the point of exhaustion.

A butterfly also dies in 2 weeks- am I okay with the transcendental brief life span?  I guess depending on humans too living an average of 80 years or whatever, it’s all subjective.

As for an eagle, well they can fly and they are definitely powerful.  Bald eagles are also revered in America.  But Idk.  They look like assholes.  LOL.  I’m judging now based on looks, which I try not to do, but inadvertently, I can’t help but do it as a human.

Leave a Reply

