What I’ve been up to

I think I don’t update as much because I try so hard to edit and perfect each blog post before I upload it… but it might be hindering my creative and thinking process so I’m just going to log a “quick” write.

The weather’s been getting warmer and I guess my mood is somewhat better in comparison to a few months ago, but I still have a lot of stress and anxiety and am having trouble managing it… I’m just grateful to avoid insomnia and fall asleep each night at the moment.  I’ve been working hard to focus on the activities, moments, and events I can join in on in life with friends and other people, it’s a work-in-progress, but isn’t it always, and isn’t that the point of living?

-Went to Girl’s group Saturday morning and then tried to sleep at Allison’s to make up for the all nighter the day before… battling insomnia does suck.  I was really tired and semi-delirious, but Sean’s  BBQ was fun regardless, just socializing and being able to be there.  The burgers were yummy and I mostly chilled and talked to ppl here and there.  Chuen showed me how to relax my shoulder and chest muscles better, and I bugged Caleb about his chinese.

I been trying to advance a lot in reading, getting back into my love for movies, and definitely learning Korean and history.  There are so many sad, tragic events in history… -_- Yet I’m so curious, and the importance of never forgetting is omnipresent in my mind.

I’m kinda drifting away from Spotify and finding new music, kinda like the weird mood I had in the past months of keeping away from movies, not sure why. What I HAVE been super into lately is animations, particularly animes and Pixar-Disney movies that I’ve missed out on.  I watched “Inside Out,” “The  Princess and the Frog”, “Your Name,” “Paprika”, and most recently, “Wreck-It Ralph.”

I have to say, some of my all-time favorite animations is definitely “Tangled” and “Big Hero 6”, but “Your Name” and “Wreck-It Ralph” definitely join the ranks.  I don’t think it’s solely because of their unique animation style and story, as many of these hit those check marks, but their pacing and story telling really stands out… not overly done, and makes you emotionally invested in the characters and their journey- truly, Ed Catmull was right about that.

Next, I am going to watch “Sing” which I believe was developed by Sony Pictures?  Need to double check on that… and now it’s gotten me all excited and curious about the other processes in making a movie, such as how they create the story boards, develop it in animation software, and incorporate music.

Quick shout out to “Paprika”, as even though I wouldn’t count it among my favorites due to its haphazard style (maybe that was the point), it definitely made me feel like one of my favorite movies “Inception” was inspired by its concept, particularly the elevator and dream sequences.

Leave a Reply

