Happy New Year 2017!!

This past weekend, while it wasn’t perfect and I was very fatigued almost the entire time, I am proud of myself for pushing hard to fight for the experiences I want in my life- there are many times that I give up, but I realize there is marginal percentage that I can push even further.  Of course, there are also certain sacrifices I have to give, for example I decided to take steroids Friday night because I could feel my lungs acting up from being in the cold so frequently, even for a couple minutes here and there in the car driving between the buildings.

On Friday I drove to the campsite and we played group game performances and ate dinner with our small group.  I was on Allison’s team, and we were Bugs Bunny, and then we played this number-balloon game that forced us to get to know our group members well- the only people I knew on my team was Allison and Sam, everyone else was from Chinatown and a couple years younger.  I think I arrived a bit drained already, so it was difficult for me to be present and awake.  I really started not to feel so well towards the end of the night, but I stayed in the basement building for an hour more so I could chill and listen to them practice worship music, which is always calming.  I drove home and got back around 11:30pm.

Saturday, I felt very tired and ended up sleeping on and off the whole day… I knew I had to rest and save up energy so I could pass 2016 with everyone else at fellowship… I finally mustered the energy to go and arrived around 10pm and hung out in the dining hall, watching other ppl set up as everyone else was in the worship room.  Soon, everyone barged in and brought the party and ruckus with them- I love how fun they are even though it’s a bit much to handle at times…  we drank sparkling cider and cheered and it was nice, took a few group pictures.  It ended around 1am and I went to the dorm and didn’t sleep the entire night, but it didn’t feel too  terrible when it was morning.

Sunday, I ended up deciding to just go straight to service at 10:30am, and listened to Winky’s message.  Then it was lunch time, then group games, which I couldn’t participate in because they were all strenuous physical activities.  I hung out in the dining hall and ended up talking for hours with Andrew, this person from the Netherlands, who was very cool.  Then I started to feel an energy crash, and then Caleb came in and we all sort of played board games, and then it was dinner time.  Then, we went back to the other building for Singspiration and the message, S.H.A.P.E. standing for Spiritual Gifts, Heart, Ability, Personality, and Experiences.  Then we went upstairs to meet for Small Group, but I had lost my voice by then… I mostly listened, it was interesting to hear about people’s stories.  I left after that and got home around 11:30pm today.  More updates to come tomorrow.

Leave a Reply

